Anybody here a locksmith?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Anybody here a locksmith by trade?
If so, when you're asked to cut keys like these, do you do it or ask a buncha stuff or say no? Nobody really stamps it there. The raw blanks are just made that way from factory.

I'm just curious if locksmiths lurks here as well.

Last edited:

gadget_lover

Flashaholic
I'm an amateur. I have most of the tools and have studied the field. It's a rather fascinating field.

I decided not to pursue it as a secondary career since there is a lot of physical work involved, and much of the income is derived from working in cars. My back will not allow me to spend time under a dashboard anymore.

Why do you ask?

Daniel

scott.cr

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm not a locksmith, but when I was a kid I read all the books by "Eddie the Wire" and had a gaggle of locksmithing tools... mostly ways to open locks without the usual key, but also tools to setup "hardened" household security.

When I moved into the condo I'm in now I actually tore out the original exterior wooden door frames and replaced them with welded steel frames, high-security locks, etc. There's one weak spot in the security but you'd need a helicopter to reach it. ;-)

Also machined some locking deadbolts for my car doors, sorta like a household deadbolt except it's totally hidden. The deadbolts lock/unlock with the keyless entry remote. Nobody is going to get into my car unless they go through the windows... and at that, I'm considering transparent security film that holds broken car windows together. (Don't know how secure it is though.)

Looking forward to hearing what the rest of your question is! ;-)

4sevens

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hey handy, you've mentioned in previously about your hobby urban exploring.
You're not trying to get into somewhere you're not supposed to are you?

I have a good friend who's in his late 60's who is a retired locksmith.