Worth it to buy P1D-CE?

Hellbore

Enlightened
Well, I am a college student so I don't have a lot of money. I would like to have a nice bright flashlight and I guess it would be cool if it was one I could carry around all the time. I don't usually carry a flashlight every day, so maybe I should change that lol...

So anyway I'm wondering, is it worth shelling out $70 for a P1D-CE? Or do you think I should wait, since more Cree lights will be out soon on the market?

Or another question, I bought one of those Elly flashlights from China, would I be better off just modding a Cree into one of those?

aarong50

Newly Enlightened
I just ordered one off Ebay. I work in law enforcement, and have carried a 4d maglite for years. I decided I wanted a keychain light so last week I went looking and found this place. I bought a LOP-SE and I was so impressed I ordered 2 more for co-workers as presents. I have since ordered a led upgrade for my mag and the P1D-CE... What I am saying is - fenix makes a great product and I am sure you will not be dissapointed. However, tread lightly as I can see this becoming expensive in the future.

LEDcandle

Flashlight Enthusiast
If you're not in a rush, wait for the 'perfect' light. If you want something right now, the P1D CE looks like the best bet for a pocket size light that screams lumens more than torches 5 times its size and has adjustable output so you can keep 'er running long as well at decent outputs, thanks to the Cree's efficiency.

Something that small should be carried everyday :D Besides, it's useful to EDC a flashlight!

If you are into modding, you can always try it out as long as you like your current host. But the getting the right focus might be a bit tricky so unless you are a somewhat intermediate modder, I would recommend buying an off-the-shelf solution.

The Voice of Reason

Newly Enlightened
I'd say go for it - otherwise you could wait forever.

There will always be something new just around the corner.