Twintask 3c question

Kentonzen

Newly Enlightened
Hello! I'm TOTALLY new to flashlights, and am thinking of the twintask 3c as my first. My question is this -- there is the regular LED option, and the UV LED option. Which should I get? I'm very interested in the uv capabilities, but I don't know how well it will work as 'visible' light. In other words, if I'm going to venture into, say, a cave, (or just walking through the house at night) will the uv LEDs give me a good beam of visible light? Or is it only good for specific tasks such as finding scorpions, cat pee, or blood? =)
Thanks for your help!

Kenton

Topper

Flashaholic*
Welcome to CPF. I wish I could answer that however I only have a couple of the standard ones. I also wonder as to how UV the UV model is. The UV lights I have are cheap ones that have a very visible purpleish beam. I think the really good ones have?? no visible beam? I do not know, I would love to hear from a person that has a twintask 3c with the UV LED's.
Topper

atm

Enlightened
I have a TT 3C UV. The UV LEDs are great for "UV stuff" but not much good for producing visible light. Compared to some cheaper UV lights I have the TT produces much less visible light but is significantly better at illuminating the things which fluoresce under UV.

I think part of this is due to the fact that it has the 2 different wavelength UV LEDs, and I imagine that as Topper suggests they are better quality than the cheap ones I have to compare the TT with.

Walking through the house at night with the UV only is a bit freaky. There's a dull 'purpley-blue' patch of visible light that is difficult to see by, but when it hits something that flouresces (such as bright coloured linen which glows like crazy thanks to the washing powder) you get a bright blue light that contrasts strongly with the darkness and ruins your dark-adapted vision.

It's also worth keeping in mind that UV light can be harmful to the eyes.