Strange lighting problem...any ideas?

kev1-1

Enlightened
I'm renting a flat at the moment, we have been for about 3 months (I'm a student). This place is even really nice, the last place had a cat flap WITHOUT a flap! Any way, there was a note in the flat when we moved in which said to ONLY use 60w bulbs. So that's what we have been doing...but they keep blowing, one at a time, every 2-3 weeks (that's brand new bulbs I only just bought!!).
Any ideas on what's up?
confused.gif

Cheers for any advice people
smile.gif
smile.gif
smile.gif

Rothrandir

Flashaholic
sounds like you need some electrical work.

have you had problems with any other electrical equipment? do you use surge protectors?

i would try it with a higher wattage bulb, and see what that does, if it is blowing the 60, maybe you should try 75, just don't leave it unatended for too long i guess, as the sockets might be plastic instead of ceramic.

sounds like something you should take up with the owners.

Brock

Flashaholic
I would guess your line voltage is too high. If you can check it with a meter it should be above 122. You could get higher voltage lamps; most places carry 130v as specialty lamps vs. the common 120v lamps. Also compact fluorescents wouldn't mind the extra voltage as much, but again they are more $. But if you're paying the electricity bill maybe CF's are the way to go.

lessing

Newly Enlightened
I am a land lord and do installation and contracting for theatres here in the states. I would definately NOT put in 75 watt bulbs. As a land lord all I can say is the legal troubles if there were a fire, and England's(all of europes) fear of fires sets you on a bad side. Sockets rated for 60 watts ARE ONLY rated at 60 watts. A 75 will work as it slowly burns the plastic down.