Jus' sittin' here daydreaming ...

Tomas

Banned
Jus\' sittin\' here daydreaming ...

I've cobbled together a couple of simple mods, and thought a bit about what, for me, would be a nearly ideal light. I'm still a newbie to modifying flashlights, and have very little anymore in the way of any tools to do the job, but I can still dream, eh?

I'm going to post a picture here of a flashlight I'd like to create. Maybe the donor already exists, maybe it doesn't. If it does exist my hope is that one of you fine people will sit down here at the table and tell me what I need to roll out the door to buy.

My problem is that I have a very good idea what features I want the light to have and have not seen a quality donor.

imagine02.jpg

Basicly this is a simple idea. I actually like the *ini*ag as a doner, because it is so simple to work with and all the parts fit (20 years of producing the same product does have it's advantages). Thing is I would like a switch, a real push-the-button switch, to turn it on and off.

I thought maybe the Dorcy AA would be a good doner, but the head assembly is a poor joke with no way to properly install a decent lens, the S&W version of the light, made by PowerTech is even worse.

What I need is a body with a decent switch (not a tail-switch), a fairly weatherproof set of seals, the ability to install a rugged and clear lens, and the ability to accept something like Wayne's excellent BB400 and NX05 optics.

Anyone out there know of a donor light that wouild work? If so I hope you can let me know before I destroy a *ini*ag and a Dorcy trying to get them to mate right here on my desktop ...
shocked.gif

Thanks a lot for reading through all this trash, I'm new enought at all this that I don't even know what's proper to ask or where to ask it.

Take care,
tomsig01.gif
stickguy.gif

Main

B@rt

Flashaholic
Re: Jus\' sittin\' here daydreaming ...

Hi Thomas,