• You must be a Supporting Member to participate in the Candle Power Forums Marketplace.

You can become a Supporting Member.

A19 XR-E Aleph Mod

:)>

Flashlight Enthusiast
Anyone,

I want to modify my A19 to be driven at around 350 ma to give it very long runtime and I would like to be able to have a low of around 40 to 80 ma.

I am very new to the game when it comes to modifying lights so I will need real help on this.

I want to be able to run the light with 1 x R123, 1 x CR123, 1 x 17650 or 2 x CR123.

What I am wanting to know is what I need to buy to do this.

Thank you.

-Goatee (Future Modder and Builder:grin2:)

Morelite

Flashlight Enthusiast
You will need to replace the downboy driver in the light engine with a Downboy400 (closest you will get to 350mA without getting a custom one)

I don't know if the new Cree light engines are potted or not, if they are you will probably have to buy a LE kit and the Downboy converter and make up a new one.

Once you have the light engine built with a Downboy 400 then you can change the guts of the two stage tailcap to ones with a resistor value to yield to low level your after.

You only need the Downboy if you want to use 2 cells, if you stick with single cell setups then you will have more choices in different drivers.

CM

Flashlight Enthusiast
The 2x123 is kind of a showstopper. The other cell configurations can be had with a buck/boost converter like Wiz2 or GD converter. The bias resistor has to be modified to get the desired 350mA. Not hard to do with the right equipment (tweezers, fine tip iron, maybe a 10x eye loup, and of course, the ability to work with fine pitch parts)