Acebeam        
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: More dumb Cree questions from me! This episode - Cree in KL3?

  1. #1
    Flashaholic* KDOG3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Sea Isle City, NJ
    Posts
    4,240

    Default More dumb Cree questions from me! This episode - Cree in KL3?

    I know I'm driving you guys nuts, but bear with me!
    From what I gather, the KL3 is a buck circuit only, which means it delivers 350ma to the emitter regardless of what kind of emitter is in there, correct? With Crees' puching 100 lumens at 350ma, could I put one in there? If so, I will try it with the optic first, but if I dont' like that, I'll try it with the Mcr38 reflector. Any advice on that idea?

    Another idea would be to run a K2 in the KL3 if the Cree won't work...
    FAILURE TO PLAN ON YOUR PART DOES NOT CONSTITUTE AN EMERGENCY ON MY PART.

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    11,834

    Default Re: More dumb Cree questions from me! This episode - Cree in KL3?

    KDOG3, you are one busy guy. I think current to KL3 is closer to 450mA's, but I may be wrong. Surefire's new Cree based lights well use something other than a reflector to focus the beam. Hasen't Milkyspit tried a Cree with an optic, KL1? Not sure. A Cree at 350mA's to led will probably not deliver 100 lumens out the front, and I bet it will be closer to 65 lumens, if that.

    The better lux V lights can output 100+ lumens, and are not picky about what kind of light engine you use, doing really good with a single LiIon (boost), or multiple batteries (buck). True, you don't get the lux of a Cree or Lux III, but you do get that great overall light output.

    Bill

  3. #3
    Flashaholic* KDOG3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Sea Isle City, NJ
    Posts
    4,240

    Default Re: More dumb Cree questions from me! This episode - Cree in KL3?

    Ok. I see what your saying, the window will cut down the output a little... but if it is running at 450ma, the output will be a little better. Maybe 80 lumens? I just ordered a HA C2 and KL3 so well see when it gets here...
    FAILURE TO PLAN ON YOUR PART DOES NOT CONSTITUTE AN EMERGENCY ON MY PART.

  4. #4
    Flashaholic* KDOG3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Sea Isle City, NJ
    Posts
    4,240

    Default Re: More dumb Cree questions from me! This episode - Cree in KL3?

    Arrgh. I see there isn't a 38mm reflector for the Cree yet. Now the Seoul version as a beam pattern more like the Luxeons right? If I use that one maybe the regular 38mm reflector would work? If not, I'm considering get the 27mm for the Cree and seeing if it will work in there.
    FAILURE TO PLAN ON YOUR PART DOES NOT CONSTITUTE AN EMERGENCY ON MY PART.

  5. #5
    Flashaholic* 65535's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    *Out There* (Irvine, CA)
    Posts
    3,320

    Default Re: More dumb Cree questions from me! This episode - Cree in KL3?

    Newbie has been using ashperical lenses sending a useable beam thousands of feet.
    Hobbyist LED information Website
    U2 work light
    Shaky Emergency Light
    The Mags
    engineer in the making

  6. #6
    Flashaholic* KDOG3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Sea Isle City, NJ
    Posts
    4,240

    Default Re: More dumb Cree questions from me! This episode - Cree in KL3?

    Yeah, I saw that thread. LOL! His neighbors probably hate him!
    FAILURE TO PLAN ON YOUR PART DOES NOT CONSTITUTE AN EMERGENCY ON MY PART.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •