Surefire L4 v 9P

marsupial

Newly Enlightened
Hello!

I've currently got a Surefire 6P which I find excellent for the work I do (I'm a Police Officer)

I'm thinking of upgrading, and wondered what your views are with regards to the Surefire L4 v Surefire P6

Obviously there is a cost difference, but what really matters to me is performance

Look forward to hearing your views

John
www.marsupialelvis.com

Danbo

Enlightened
The L4 is a close up, all flood kinda light. In your case, given your needs, I would recommend the Surefire L5. It's a little larger than the L4, and has a more balanced beam with both throw and flood. Actually, it's my current favorite light. Cost is just a bit more than the L4, but it's well worth it, IMO.

Mad1

Enlightened
They are worlds appart really like Danbo said, the L4 is all about flood and has no throw.

You should stick with the 6P, its got great output, tough as nails and its an incandecant so it's got better colour rendition in the dark than the L4.

JanCPF

Enlightened
marsupial,

Welcome to CPF

You will find a *plethora* of information about the L4 as well as the 9P in here. I know it's kinda hard to find the right information with such amounts of data, but please try the search function.

The L4 and 9P are like oranges and apples. They are *very* different in beam character as well as color temperature, not to mention looks and feel.

That said I would definitely recommend the L5 as Danbo also did, but it really depends on your lighting needs. The L5 (and L4) is what most would call "a ram of light" or "wall of light". Big hotspot with *alot* of sidespill. Extremely good for lighting up a large area or hiking trail, but it doesn't throw as far as the 9P, although it does throw better than the L4 and doesn't run as hot.

Jan

Last edited:

marsupial

Newly Enlightened
Cheers for the advice

The L5 does seem interesting (although I guess I would need new belt kit for it)