Motherboards question

Tater Rocket

Enlightened
Ok, I've never built a computer from scratch before. I am wondering about motherboards. Mainly which brands are good. If all of the specs are the same, IE, can use same memory, processor, etc, are two brands pretty much equal?

Specs I am wanting: At least 3 slots for memory (each supporting around half a gig at least). Want it to be able to use SDRAM and pc2100 (or 2700). The reason is I won't be able to afford everything at once, and at least I'd be able to use the comp with my crappy 192 megs of SDRam.

Processor: I want it to be pretty flexible. Probably an Athlon. Guys here at school usually will sell a processor. There is currently an athlon 1900+ for $70 and he'd probably go as low as $60 for it, but I also want to be able to upgrade later.

AGP slot mandatory, 4x or 8x, doesn't matter TOO much, but probably 8x.

IDE: Want at least 2 IDE channels, can always get a PCI slot IDE adapter later.

Anything else I am missing? Suggestions?

Spud (who wants a desktop he can actually play games on and have lots of storage).

Tater Rocket

Enlightened
Oh, and the way I understand it, as long as the front side bus on the processor is supported by the motherboard it will work? So if I get a motherboard with a 333 or 266 FSB for athlons, I can use tha XP1900 at 266 and still have plenty of room for upgrades?

AllenInHouston

Newly Enlightened
I would suggest that you to do a lot more research. There aren't very many boards that support PC100/PC133 and PC2100 (I only know of ECS, but there may be others). I don't know of any that support PC100/PC133 and PC2700.

Every current mobo comes with AGP and 2 IDE channels except for some of the really cheap or really small ones. Your best bet is to save up your money and buy it all at once. You can get a mobo, 512MB DDR, and a processor for around $300 if you shop around (and stick with Athlon's).