Fenix L2D CE

sunofzeus

Newly Enlightened
I'm new to the flashlight world and this forum, but I just purchased a Fenix L2D CE from fenixstore.com and was wondering what kind of batteries would give this the best output. Will rechargeable lithiums work? If so what size? Thank you.

WildChild

Flashlight Enthusiast
Rechargeable lithium only in L1D CE. With two of them the voltage will fry the flashlight! I think the best is from NiMH rechargeable. Almost the same performance as primary lithium batteries (Energizer Lithium) but rechargeable. Performance with Alkaline should be good but not on Turbo mode. Only on low or medium.

speederino

Enlightened
Best bang for the buck would be NIMH rechargeables. Lithium primary AA's (such as the engergizer e2 lithium) will provide the longest runtime but are pricey. AA NIMH's generally provide 60-80% the runtimes of AA lithium primaries, but with a similarly low internal resistance, provide the same brightness...and obviously, can be recharged (free lumens!!). Alkalines, on the other hand, have a high internal resistance and generate lots of heat instead of lots of light under high loads. Even so, the L2D-CE should provide very respectable runtimes with alkies on the lower output levels.

jayhackett03

Enlightened
this light only puts out 55 lumens? wtf? the P1D CE puts out over 100 lumens doesn't it? why can't they make a really bright cree L2? and why did they use the ugly body instead of the L2P body?

curtis22

Enlightened
The Fenix L2D CE is a digitally-controlled, constant-current multilevel flashlight. It has six levels of output, which not only allows the user to select the best compromise between brightness and runtime for any given task, but also has the ability to aid in an emergency. The L1D CE does all this and still retains a very compact size. If you're looking for solid reliability, digitally regulated brightness, and compact size, this Fenix is for you.