Budget flashlight....

oBMTo

Newly Enlightened
I am currently looking to purchase one of these 3 lights:

Fenix L2T
Fenix L1T
Inova X5

I am leaning heavily towards the L2T for a couple of reasons:
1. The use of AA batteries (although the Inova X5 use of CR123A is not too big of a deal)
2. Long battery life
3. The ability to use L1T body if I need more portability.

Is there anything I am missing that I should give the Inova X5 more consideration? How does it compare in terms of brightness to the L2T? The price is very appealing though.

Also are there any other flashlights in this price range that I should consider? And where are good places to purchase them? (I know the Inova is available at Target and the L2T is available at fenix-store.com)

carbine15

Flashlight Enthusiast
Welcome to CPF! THose look like mid-range flashlights to me. Budget for me is anything from 50 cents to $20. High end for me is anything over $100. Then again I'm a poor starving college student.
cimg1828kj4.jpg

this is my budget flashlight.. as well as my sig flashlights.

Lobo

Flashlight Enthusiast
Have to agree with carbine there, wouldn't call them budget lights, but anyway. When it comes to brightness, the x5 is much more of a flood light, the fenixes has much better throw.

But I would get neither, why not get the Fenix L1D CE or L2D CE(hard to miss the threads if you look around here), IMHO much better and more versatile lights.
L1s and L2s could also be considered if you have a strict budget, pretty much as good as LxT series but 10 USD cheaper.
Liteflux has also a really good AA model which comes with both 1aa and 2aa tubes (they are coming with a cree model soon also).
http://www.flashlightreviews.com/reviews/liteflux_lf1.htm
To sum it up, buy a light with a cree in it. :)

And welcome to the forum!

coontai

Newly Enlightened
Lobo said: