Newbie Questions: please help with Golston mod

PhotonsExciteMe

Newly Enlightened
First, I'm new to flashlight obsession and I hope I'm not stepping on any toes asking questions that have already been answered many times, but I've searched both the candlepowerforum and google to no avail. I'm looking for a comprehensive guide on what every modder should know. Does anyone have a link to one? Short of finding that perfect guide, however, I have some specific questions that I would be most greatful if someone could answer.

I just purchased a Golston 7W LED torch (specifically, the "7w Super Bright Waterproof USA", "power 3.6vx2 charge battery" version from Dae with the DSD charger and some LIR123A, 3.6V 800mAh cells,) after having read the entire 17 page thread on it. I'm quite impressed with its beam; however, I would like to add current regulation, and I have a few concerns:

1) sandwhiches: I would like to simply buy and drop in a sandwich and be done with it, but I don't know what exactly I need to get. Are the sandwiches all the same standard size(they appear to be from the pics)? The bare aluminum piece that the star sits on, is it the heatsink or is it the top of the "can"? Do I take the whole piece (can and all) out of the flashlight tube and pop in a whole new one? Do the "sammiches" from the sandwich shoppe come inside of a can, or do people generally remove their old sammich from the can and put in a new one? As you can see, I'm a little confused about the terminology and components which reside between the cells and the optics. Could someone break it down for me please?