LED choices for 3D mag

SK10

Newly Enlightened
I want to replace the incandescent bulb in my mag 3D with an LED. I'm looking for more max output than consistent output (as long as it lasts 5-10 min before dropping to 50%). I've done some searching but haven't come up with anything real conclusive. Everyone seems to have a different opinion. This one is at the top of my list at the moment. Are there any others that I should consider? I'm a noob at modding so I'm a little hesitant to do anything more than a drop-in. Thanks.

Brighteyez

Flashlight Enthusiast
Welcome to CPF!

Sounds like the MagLED should fill the bill for you. Don't know why you would want a direct drive module instead. I think you'll find that the Mag will cost you less, and if there's any problem with it (or you just don't like the tint,) you can just take it back to the store and get another one on the spot. That is seldom a option when you're buying something from a mail-order vendor.

SK10 said:
I want to replace the incandescent bulb in my mag 3D with an LED. I'm looking for more max output than consistent output (as long as it lasts 5-10 min before dropping to 50%). I've done some searching but haven't come up with anything real conclusive. Everyone seems to have a different opinion. This one is at the top of my list at the moment. Are there any others that I should consider? I'm a noob at modding so I'm a little hesitant to do anything more than a drop-in. Thanks.

SK10

Newly Enlightened
Thanks. How's the output of the MagLED compared to the others? I have a couple friends with MagLED upgrades and was wondering if there was anything with more lumens.

Last edited:

flashy bazook

Flashlight Enthusiast
not sure I agree with the proposal to go with Mag's own LED. I have the exact Diamond-made Luxeon K2 drop-in module for a 3xD Mag. It works great.