No 2 Electronics Retailer to Close 69 Stores

CLHC

Flashaholic
Since all of us on CPF are "flashaholics," there's also reason enough to believe that we are interested in other electronic gadgets and goodies. So with that in mind, do you shop with Best Buy, Circuit City, Fry's Electronics or online or otherwise?

The news today is that the number 2 consumer electronics retail store is closing quite a number of stores. Here's the news link:

http://enews.earthlink.net/article/bus?guid=20070208/45caae50_3ca6_1552620070208453909493

Enjoy!

Brighteyez

Flashlight Enthusiast
It's amazing how a store or chain can leave a lasting impression on a person. About 13-14 years ago, I went into a Circuit City store and the floor whores were so sleazy and it was literally a case of "you could tell they were lying because their lips were moving," that I've gone out of my way to avoid that company.

Elmie

Enlightened
Circuit City aint looking to peachy thats for sure. I'm a joint venture manager here in Canada. Since being bought out, everything has been downhill. The company has lost its direction IMO. We have Steve Pappas running the show (former Radio Shack VP). As you all know that RS started focusing on Cell phones and now look where they are. Well guess what. Our main focus up here is CELL PHONES. I'm going to start working on my resume.....LOL

3rd_shift

Flashlight Enthusiast
This is not the 1st time that Circuit City has closed a few stores.
More often than not, they seem to do good about opening up someplace else in a better place afterwards.

myk

Enlightened
Heres my circuit city gripe:

Blu-Ray and HD-DVDs. They don't have them out and displayed - like the DVDs, theyre in stupid little square displays in the TV section, unorganized and a mess. AND they charge MSRP for them - eg. $38/movie compared to bestbuy @ $25 and WalMart @ $26

LEDagent

Flashlight Enthusiast