Advice for a noob for driving on snow/ice

cobb

Flashlight Enthusiast
Maybe someone here can give me some honest answers and excuse me if its been posted before.

I got my license May of last year to drive and looks like working two jobs 14 hours a day, I may have to drive through some of the slippery stuff soon living in the VA area. At least I am 5 miles from job 1, job 1 is 7 miles from job 2 and job 2 is 5 miles from home. I can get to both locations by the interstate i95 or surface streets.

I have talked to a few people and I get quite a few answers.

1, be careful, drive slowly
2, stay home
3, just drift the car like in the spot where you drive sideways
4, use chains and go less than 35mph

As a new driver, I have made all the stupid mistakes and so far no accidents and learned my lesson. Ive taken on and off ramps too fast making my car or van slide. The van, the rear end slids around causing you to drift it around a corner. I just steered it back and did not touch the brake or gas. The car, it you steer too sharp it will slide forward and the steering becomes unresponside, likewise touching nothing and resteering you get the steering to work again. The van was rather easy to spin tires and used that on wet roads to make tight u turns and upshifted to brake harder without locking up the tires.

I guess just be on your toes and look ahead right?

Manzerick

Flashlight Enthusiast
snow tires help but speeds need to stay low. Also, you need to assume braking and turning will need to occur slow also.

Just pay attention...use your head and don't do anything nuts! lol

abvidledUK

Flashlight Enthusiast
Braking takes 10x as long in Snow and on Ice.

Steer into skids.

Don't touch brakes if you can whilst skidding.

Drive in as high a gear as possible.

Buy a Jeep !!

Big cars don't stop any quicker than smaller cars, but give more protection to occupants if you hit something.

Take shovel, water, food, blankets, TORCHES, etc

Seperate radio / iPod.

Mobile phone.