Smoking P4 in Mag Drop-in (literally!)

SnowplowTortoise

Newly Enlightened
Hi folks. This is my first post so I'll try to keep it simple to minimize my chances of writing something stupid. I've had the mo' lumens virus since childhood, but I have zero experience in electronics tinkering and this was my very first attempt at soldering. Thus, there is strong chance that I've done something wrong that would be obvious to most of you.

Here's the situation: I have a Mag 4D with alkaline cells. I've been using the Mag 3W drop-in for some time now with no issues. Unable to leave well-enough alone, I pulled off the Luxeon on the drop-in and replaced it with Seoul P4 U-bin from the Sandwich Shoppe. I used Arctic Alumina to adhere the LED to the base. Because the prongs on the LED were not long enough, I used some strips of metal to extend down into the base (cut up a penny – did you know they're not solid copper anymore?). Then I globbed a bunch of rosin-core solder all over the place, installed it back into my 4D, and fired it up. Amazingly, it lights up.

But here's the issue: after a minute or so, the light begins to dim and turn very blue. Smoke then ensues. At first I thought it was the reflector melting (which it was), but the thing continued to smoke after the reflector was removed. Why is this thing getting so much hotter than the Luxeon? Did I do something wrong in the execution or is the whole concept flawed?

Thanks very much for your help. This site will be my undoing!

Gnufsh

Enlightened
SnowplowTortoise said:
(cut up a penny – did you know they're not solid copper anymore?).
Pre-1982 pennies are ~95% Cu, the more recent ones have a zinc core. I sort out and save some of the pre-1982 ones to use for heatsinking, etc.

Sable

Enlightened