Switching between LED's

rfarkash

Newly Enlightened
Please forgive my ignorance. I'm building up a 2 cree headlight powered by battery and bflex driver. I'm trying to figure out the simplest way to be able to switch between 1 light on or both lights on.
I assume the bflex can handle this provided the battery voltage is vf+1.

Is a DPST switch the easiest way to do this or is there some other way using the bflex?

I'm just starting out making these lights and don't ahave a lot of electrical experience, so want to make sure I don't do anything stupid.
Thanks
Ron

ken2400

Enlightened
I am thinking two simple switchs? Either slide or pushbutton. The some places to buy are

[size=-1]www.digikey.com
[/size][size=-1]www.mouser.com
www.ebay.com

Keep us posted on your final design.
Thanks
[/size]
rfarkash said:
Please forgive my ignorance. I'm building up a 2 cree headlight powered by battery and bflex driver. I'm trying to figure out the simplest way to be able to switch between 1 light on or both lights on.
I assume the bflex can handle this provided the battery voltage is vf+1.

Is a DPST switch the easiest way to do this or is there some other way using the bflex?

I'm just starting out making these lights and don't ahave a lot of electrical experience, so want to make sure I don't do anything stupid.
Thanks
Ron

chris_m

Enlightened
The easiest thing to do is to have the LEDs in series as standard and use a SPST switch to short out one of the LEDs (ie the switch is in parallel with the LED). I'm assuming here that you're using the bFlex to switch on and off, and so not trying to run the LED switching and the on/off from a single switch.

Of course the question then is why bother if you've got a bFlex? Since LEDs are more efficient at lower current (and the driver is more efficient when the output voltage is nearer the input voltage), you'll get more light for the same power input by keeping both on and using a dimmer setting on the bFlex.

Y-Wrench

Newly Enlightened