Need advice from Emergency Medical Technician

Joel

Newly Enlightened
Hi:

A friend of mine is a writer and is trying to write a realistic scene of an arriving ambulance, EMT's and their patient. Basically he is looking for the kind of information delivered by the EMT's to hospital personnel. The patient is suffering from exposure (cold), is pregnant and ready to give birth and is not conscious. It doesn't have to be long-winded just the basics - quick, efficient and very professional.

Thanks in advance!
Joel

z96Cobra

Enlightened
I let my EMT cert. expire due to my new hours at my job (I was a volly EMT, but still run with the FD) but I can still help ya. We would radio the hospital and our report would be something like this...

We are enroute to your facility with a 38 year old male patient involved in an MVA (motor vehicle accident). Patient was restrained (seatbelted) driver and the airbags did deploy. Patient is complaining of lower leg pain and there is obvious deformity of the left Tibia. We have the leg vacuum splinted, and patient is on a backboard with C-collar. Patient is alert and oriented. Vitals are... BP 145/88, pulse 95 and respirations are 18. We will be at your facility in approx. 10 minutes.

That report could be too much info for some hospitals, and too little for others. It took me a while to remember what hospitals liked the quick/basic reports, and which ones liked all the details that you could give them.

Im sure you'll get a lot more responses with better reports, I've been away too long now!

Roger

Joel

Newly Enlightened
Thanks, Roger:
I forgot to mention that the scene takes place when they arrive at the hospital. I should probably set my tivo to record some ER episodes, they usually have a scene or two with an arriving patient if I'm not mistaken...

TedTheLed

Flashlight Enthusiast
cobra if that's the way you would treat and call in a cold pregnant unconcious lady no wonder you retired!..lol...just kidding...

Shreklight