The feeling about price of flashlight?

fineday

Newly Enlightened
This may be a strange question:ohgeez:but I often wonder how are westerners feeling about price of lights.

Everytime I buy lights I would feel "guilty", for spent such a lot of money, and people around me also can't understand me about buying a simple torch with lots of RMB. I lived in China, here high quality flashlights are always very expensive. For example, my first flashlight, INOVA XO, costed me RMB 420, and then paid RMB 220 for the second one L1P. After that came JETBeam JET-I MK-II, I was attracted by the fantasy function and quickly owned it, the price was RMB 440. At last I found C-LE, deciding to taste CREE LEDs, I got it with RMB 168. These are only cheapie, Surefire lights often sells for over RMB 1000 or even 2000.:ohgeez: I'm studying in university and get only RMB 500 every month for living.

Sometimes I heard that, a common person in western could earn the same amount of money as person in China, i.e. a common worker in China earns RMB 1500 per month and worder in USA earns also 1500 per month but in dollars. The price is the same around the world, C-LE selling RMB 168 are also selling for about $20 ( no shipping ) in western. So the same price, but not the same incoming, I wonder how are you feeling when buying lights? Is $60 meaning MUCH more expensive than $30 and hard to afford? Or is that about incoming true in western would?:candle:

As far as I'm concerned, if Surefire sells for RMB 300 (not $300) in my country, I'll be happy to get lots of them.:grin2:

Thanks for all replies.

ACMarina

Flashlight Enthusiast