I need advice on building a UV LED flashlight

Lenny7

Newly Enlightened
Hi all,

My daughter (11 years old) is involved in an activity called Destination Imagination, where groups of kids are given a challenge and have to come up with the solution, including building everything that they might need. Her group is involved in performing a skit with technical aspects. They need to come up with, and build, a gadget that has something to do with optics. There idea is to build a black light flashlight.

Right away, I'm thinking...COOL!!! Then I think of the challenges. Besides the kids having to build this, it also has to be bright enough for the audience to see a blacklight effect in normal lighting levels. What those levels might be, I'm not sure. In past years it's been a stage in an auditorium, and other times it's been in a school classroom.

The other challenge is that it also has to be battery powered. My thoughts immediately went to UV LEDs, but not being a flashlight builder, I'm wondering if this is a project that is feasible.

Having been on this forum off and on through the year, I know there's some torch wizards here. I'm hoping to get some advice...Can this work, and if so, what's the best route to go?

I've even contemplated using a fluorescent UV bulb but I'm not sure if it's possible to build one that's battery powered.

Thanks,
Lenny

CM

Flashlight Enthusiast
Use the Cree UV LED as a basis for the torch. Let them come up with a way to bias it (hint, use current limiting resistor with 3 alkaline cells in series). You can always supply all the material (LED, flashlight host, resistors, etc) and when it's done, you get to keep the torch :D

Nebula

Enlightened