Please recommend a charger for L2D CE

Aaron

Newly Enlightened
I've never used AA rechargeable batteries before but I'm looking for some for my L2D CE. I was thinking about the 15 minute charger from Duracell with the 2400 mAh batteries. I know the quick chargers tend to have more trouble than the standard ones, so does anyone have any experience with these? Does anyone have any better suggestions?

Thanks

gigbyt

Newly Enlightened
check out thomas-distributing.com

they have a lot of chargers in different price ranges.
i have ordered from them a few times and have never had a problem.

HarveyRich

Enlightened
Get one with independent single channel operation, meaning that you can charge one to four AA or AAA cells independently. Otherwise you'll have to charge two batteries at a time--and you'll want to charge single cells if you move into a flashlight that requires either 1 cell or three cells. You should also match actual battery capacities fairly closely in two cell lights.

I just received a LaCrosse Technology BC-900 charger and I want to make a pitch for it even though it's not my fastest one. There's also a brand new MAHA charger that does this, although I've read one review that indicates it has more limitations than the LaCrosse--and is about 50% more expensive. This has four independent charging and discharging channels and can be relatively fast--i.e. charge to full in 1 1/2 hrs. You set the charge/discharge rates. However, the beauty of it is that it gives individual readouts for each battery and lists the voltage, current, time per segment and capacity of the battery at the press of a button. It also has four modes: charge, discharge, refresh, and test. This allows you to discharge and then recharge a battery--over and over if you need to. You need to do this periodically to NiMH batteries because they become conditioned to a lower capacity than rated, sometimes severely so as time goes on. This can bring old batteries completely back to life!