new laptop recommendations?

hquan

Enlightened
I work as a developer and it's been a couple of years since i've bought a new laptop. I currently have an IBM T42p which is a decent system. I've only been disappointed in the number of times that I've needed to have it repaired (about 9). Thank goodness I bought the on-site tech support!

I'm looking for a fast, sturdy, top of the line laptop with a minimum of 2 gig of RAM. It must run Windows (since I'm a .Net developer). I'm not in any hurry to buy. Any recommendations? What are the best manufacturers? I used to think that IBM was supposed to be the best, but my personal experience has not lived up to the reputation.

Thanks!

Brighteyez

Flashlight Enthusiast
I don't think IBM has manufactured laptops (or any other personal computer) for quite some time now (at least a decade.) I think their laptops came through Acer and Lenovo. There aren't that many companies that actually manufacture laptops, most of the actual manufacturing is done by Chinese companies that you've never heard of and then branded with whatever name is selected.

hquan said:
I used to think that IBM was supposed to be the best, but my personal experience has not lived up to the reputation.

Thanks!

myk

Enlightened
Brighteyez said:
I don't think IBM has manufactured laptops (or any other personal computer) for quite some time now (at least a decade.) I think their laptops came through Acer and Lenovo. There aren't that many companies that actually manufacture laptops, most of the actual manufacturing is done by Chinese companies that you've never heard of and then branded with whatever name is selected.

IBM made their own laptops until last year - design anyways, construction is outsourced by everyone in the electronics industry and is a horrible indicator of anything.