Incandescent vs led

nitrolight

Newly Enlightened
hey

i've got a few (3d,6d) maglites (Incand) and i am looking to replace them with a led light that will give me the same throw..any suggestions? the thing i dont like about my mags is the fact that they only have 1 brightness level. the other option i have is to simply replace my mags bulb with an led one but will this give me the same throw??and should i go for the original maglite relacement bulb?

i am new to the led world so sorry for the ignorance:sssh: !

Last edited:

magnum70383

Enlightened
Hi, I'm new as well to all these crazy flashlights... ok, you got a few maglites right? WHICH ONES?!?!?
And If you like maglites so much, why not get the maglite LEDS?!?! I've got maglite 2AA LED and is GREAT! I'm not sure by replacing the bulbs will give you the same throw...but I'm pretty sure it WILL be brighter and give you MORE throw. lol why don't you just BUY all the maglite LEDs.
Check out Fenix L2D CE! 135 lumens from 2AAs. plus multi-brightness levels and modes like strobe...lol...time for seizures:barf:

Last edited:

scott.cr

Flashlight Enthusiast
The Surefire U2 is a real nice little multi-level light. Even though it's a small light, the beam throw is very good, and it's also very floody for close-up work. Honestly, the U2 is a very tough light to beat in terms of all-around use.

If you want max throw from an LED you might consider an ArcMania LED tower in a Surefire Turbohead... hard to find though...

nitrolight

Newly Enlightened
i checked the l2d ce but i hear it cant compare to the trow of the mags.........i've got the 3d and 6d mags and i love their battery life! if i go for the bulb relacement,should i go terralux or the original mag led replacement bulb?

mossyoak

Flashlight Enthusiast
The Southland with a RedBull in one hand and iPhon