Surefire A2 Owners - What's your bulb life?

Atomic_Chicken

Enlightened
Greetings!

I owned a Surefire A2 Aviator for 8 or 9 months last year, and ended up selling it to help fund a Kroma. The entire time I owned it, using it as my EDC light with at least 10 minutes of use per day (longer when camping or working late...), I never did burn out a bulb. I sold it with the original bulb still intact and burning bright.

I purchased two new A2's yesterday (1 with Red LED, 1 with White) along with a spare MA02 lamp assembly, and I'm curious about what to realistically expect in the way of bulb life.

For all you A2 owners out there... how often have you needed to change a bulb? Were your bulb failures typically due to burnout, or being shocked/dropped/etc.?

Best wishes,
Bawko

Pyle-IT

Newly Enlightened
Hello

I have been using my A2 approx 15 mins per night 4 nights a week for 2 years and still on original bulb. I am a pilot and depart at 10pm nightly, the A2 done all my preflight inspections and post flight inspections with me. I have been through and tried at least 15 other lights and this is still my favorite light for what i do. I think that is due to the momentary on(LED's), with the ability to have more light (incan) with only a little more pressure. When the bulb finally blows ill post when and how.

Size15's

Flashaholic
I have over 40 hours of use on one MA02 before I retired it early. It's still as bright and white a fresh bulb. I've never had an MA02 bulb fail, and none of ones I'm currently using in my A2's are showing any signs of getting old.

cslinger

Enlightened
I have two A2 that are about two years old or so. Neither has a blown bulb but I don't use the incan a huge amount.

Chris

batman

Enlightened
my MAo2 gave way to shock after a fall onto concrete with roughly 30 hours on the bulb. Funny, it had taken many falls like that before finally dying.

firefly99

Enlightened