Any reason not to buy a Surefire L4?

flilow06

Newly Enlightened
Hi guys, newbie here looking to get into a real flashlight. Will be left in the glove box of my car mostly and used for random car installs and outings. I've fallen in love with the L4, its size, and the fact that it's a 5watt with some great output. I know it still uses the "older" style LED, but this doesn't really bother me unless there is an issue with it I'm unaware of.

I also checked out a couple of the Fenix lights and the Jetbeam Mark II. Any other small 3-5 watts I should look at? How do you guys compare these to the L4?

Thanks!

-Dave

FASTCAR

Banned
Many lights are 1/2 or LESS the cost of a L4 now.Many have similar quality and are more lumens.I would not rush and buy a L4.

Lobo

Flashlight Enthusiast
FASTCAR said:
Many lights are 1/2 or LESS the cost of a L4 now.Many have similar quality and are more lumens.I would not rush and buy a L4.

+1
Get a Fenix L2D and pop in some lithium AAs, great car light. Brighter, longer running, mult levels, easy to feed with AA in total emergency, strobe for getting attention etc.

Last edited:

DaFABRICATA

Flashlight Enthusiast
The L4 is a cool light! But gets HOT if you run it for more than 5-10 minutes. Also a little pricy so I'd suggest looking in the Buy/Sell/Trade section here. The runtime is also something that needs to be improved. Only an hour +/- and then it drops off drastically. I really like mine a ton, but for the money other lights can be had...especailly if you are leaving it in the glovebox. It would suck to have someone break into your car and get away with such an expensive investment. If you plan on leaving a light in the car, buy something that won't break your heart(or the bank)if the worst happens. Fenix is a good choice. I don't own any but most owners seen pretty happy with the runtime/output/price. Good luck!

easilyled

Flashaholic
I would try and get a light with the latest led technology in them