High power colored led, what is best option for upgrade?

tkflash1

Newly Enlightened
Hi everyone. i am looking to upgrade some of my lights and i wanted to know what is the best colored high power led's? I now have a few Dorcy 1 watt 3D flashlights with colored Luxeon 3 watt led's (green and red/orange) in them but there seem to be some higher lumen options now. Seoul makes some 5 watt led's model # 11490. There is also CML, and Ledengin that offer higher powered colored Led's. Being a dorcy upgrade, having a star option would be the easiest to do. Has anyone installed some of the multi die led's in a dorcy 3D reflector yet? It has a large hole in bottom so should fit over most led's out there but i don't know how the beam would look. Any suggestions?

Last edited:

tkflash1

Newly Enlightened
:bumpit:

Gee, no one else interested in colored power LED's? Those Seoul 5 watt ones are lower voltage than the luxeon 5 watt led but i have no experience with them. Anyone else use them? part # 10490 or 11490?

hank

Flashlight Enthusiast
Post links to suppliers and tech info? Have you done your own mods, if so pointer to those?

cratz2

Flashlight Enthusiast
Out of curiosity, what exactly do you do with these crazy bright colored lights? I have three QIIIs with R/O, green and RB Lux IIIs, but they are just play toys other than the green.

I'm going to try a USW0H SSC in my Dorcy 3D when I get some. I'd imagine it would be a bit better of a beam than in the stock Mag reflector as the Dorcy is deeper.

tkflash1

Newly Enlightened
One place i was looking was Mouser electronics at:
http://www.mouser.com/search/Refine...0+4294809840&Ns=P_SField&Msb=0&RefType=Header
and:
http://www.mouser.com/search/Refine...0+4294779627&Ns=P_SField&Msb=0&RefType=Header
I also have seen them advertised at Arrow electronics:
http://lighting.arrow.com/
I am not sure if you can buy right from them though.