Should I keep Surefire L4 or sell?

JasonK

Newly Enlightened
Hi,

Hoping someone can help with some plain and simple advice, as i've been reading articles on this forum for a few days now and am more confused than ever.

I've bought a new Surefire L4. Now i'm thinking I have rushed into it.

I thought (based on the price) it would be able to adjust the intensity of the output. Not so. I have seen mention of a way to replace a part, making it low / high, but I couldn't work out the thread references. Also, I am a newbie and not making much sense of abbreviations. eg Joe - forum member?

Additionally, I assumed I could use rechargeable CR123a's. Not so, apparantly. And I still don't understand the difference between protected and unprotected.

I have looked at www.lighthound.com and contacted AW, but get differing answers. So am still puzzled.

I am genuinely concerned that it isn't safe to use rechargeable CR123a's. Can I leave the batteries & charger unsupervised for example?

I would really appreciate some simple, clear advice, aimed at a newbie.

If I can't run the L4 on rechargeables, then it's too expensive for me to keep & use, as I intend using it for at least an hour a day. Also, there is conflicting advice about the led. If it only lasts 500 hours, how easy is it to buy and fit a replacement, else again, this might not be the torch for me.

Please can someone explain, as right now, I am really regretting buying this torch. I thought originally, spend as much as you can afford, as an investment. Now I am seeing quite a few flaws in this logic.

Advice really appreciated.

Thankyou,
Jason

luigi

Enlightened
Rechargeable batteries usually have a higher voltage than the primary normal cells.
A 123 battery is 3.0v but a rechargeable 123 usually goes up to 3.7v
The LED in the L4 can't take the extra voltage and might be damaged if you use 2 rechargeable 123 cells.