Survivor LED Question

Relichuntr

Newly Enlightened
Hey everyone, I'm new to the forum so be gentle please. I've been lurking for a while and have gotten some great info from the posts. It's nice to know I'm not alone in my quest for the perfect flashlight. Wife thinks I'm loosing it.

I'm a professional firefighter and am thinking of the Streamlight Survivor LED to replace my incan Kohler Responder. Alot of the guys on the dept. carry the incan version of the Survivor but I've seen alot of them go dead very quickly or be so weak from rundown batteries they were useless. So I'm thinking the LED version with 4 AA's will be the better choice. Question ( finally) is there any way to modify a Survivor with a Cree Led? The increase in output would be awesome along with the great throw that Survivor is famous for. Thanks for any info.

flashy bazook

Flashlight Enthusiast
are you sure you need the CREE mod on the Survivor LED? It puts out a throw of 85 on high and has an overall lumen rating (manufacturer) of 65.

The reflector is designed for firefighter conditions, to penetrate smoke and fog, and it has a runtime of 3 hrs on high which should be well more than enough for your needs.

No question, it would be nice if Streamlight came out with a CREE (or SSC) version of it, but it may already be good enough for your needs.

Don't you have some kind of training facility? Maybe you could borrow one and test it?

If you do, I'd be very interested in your experience with the light.

Relichuntr

Newly Enlightened