Help me decide new tire width.

LEDagent

Flashlight Enthusiast
My tires are getting REALLY bald and it's time to replace before the rainy season in San Diego starts up again around April and May.

First of all I am not an aggrasive driver all the time, but I can get quite spirited from time to time just for the hell of it. Mostly, i'm a conservative driver who follows the speed limit 80 percent of the time. The fastest I would drive is usually 80mph, which seems to be (sadly) the flow of traffic in Southern California. After being involved in and witnessing a HORRIBLE fatal accident (I was not at fault and walked away okay with little to no damage) I am sure to keep my speed down. Losing control of ones car at 40 mph is one thing, but seeing someone lose control of their car at 80mph, up an embankment, flipping end to end....it's a completely different story....

Anyway, I believe tires are one thing a person shouldn't skimp on a car. My OEM tire size is 195/65/15. I've experimented with different plus sizes from stock 215/60/15 to 205/60/15. At 215/60/15 the steering became noticably harder (a bad thing) and I believe contributed to some of the minor suspension repairs over time. At 205/60/15 the steering was MUCH better, gas mileage improved quite noticably, and overall performance seemed to be better than the OEM size.

Can anyone tell me the negatives and positives (if any) for choosing 205/60/15 or 195/65/15? All the comments i've read at other forums are too focused on performance and style. I've outgrown all (most) of that but i've become very comfortable with the plus one size.

My dad changed his truck tires back to factory size (195/65/15) and it was more comfortable to drive and stear than the bigger tires we chose last time; however, I can't tell if it was due to the change in size or the change in brand/tread design.