newbie here w some questions

vic2367

Enlightened
what exactly is lumens ?

also looking for a good flashlight with excellent brightness and excellent runtime...going to carry it everyday,,,any suggestions ? thanks

jch79

**Do Not Feed The Vegan**,
Vic,

Lumens, basically are a measurement of total light output. It can only be measured with an expensive device called an integrating sphere. The majority of us measure in "Lux", which is a a measurement of light output at a given spot - meaning, if you take a lux measurement in the center "hotspot" of a beam, it'd be much higher than if you took it in the "flood" part of the beam.

As for your light suggestion... there definitely needs to be more info than that.

Things to consider are:
1) money - do you want a $20 MagLED, or a $250 custom light?
2) batteries - AA, AAA, or CR123A are the three most common here. However, breaking that down further, there is NiMH rechargeables for AA and AAA, and Li-Ion rechargeable for CR123A, and then many other battery sizes.
3) your specific uses/environment - if you're just needing a walk-the-dog or around the office light, it's different than if you're, say a mechanic, a LEO, or something much more physical.
4) size - do you want a smaller form factor, or a larger (think an old-school Mag) form factor?
5) LED or Incandescent? I can tell you which one is better, but I'd hate to LEaD you in one direction...

Anyways, that's that.

:) john

jch79

**Do Not Feed The Vegan**,
Oh, just for the heck of it, some broad advice:

People seem to really like Fenix lights (I don't own one), for reasonably priced LED lights. Arc lights are also well-received here. And obviously SureFire is a great company with a proven track record of making great great lights.