What light can match the TL-3?

Hallorann

Newly Enlightened
Hello

I am a flashlight noob that recently purchased a Streamlight TL-3 Incan, and am very impressed with this light!!

It is certainly the brightest light of this size that I have ever seen.

My question is what other lights are out there that compare to the TL-3 in terms of brightness and throw?

I know that there are lights like the 6x123 Surefire that are brighter, but I am only asking about lights of this particular size (3x123 and smaller).

Also, the new Cree and Seoul LEDs are apparently very efficient, but I have not seen any LED light (Cree or otherwise) that can match the TL-3 incan. Are they out there?

Thanks!

Paul_in_Maryland

Flashlight Enthusiast
The TL-3's throw can be matched or surpassed by two Wolf Eyes 3x123A bodies, using a pair of 150A cells and a Lumens Factory lamp:

• Raider with a narrow bezel (36mm) and EO-9 lamp (380 lumens, 2.0 amps).
  • Cobra (45mm bezel) and EO-0L lamp (450 lumens, 2.4 amps).
Another possibility: Pelican M3 (39mm head, I think). It's a 9V, 130-lumen version of the 80-lumen M6, a 2x123A light that throws about 80 percent as far as a TL-3.

paulr

Flashaholic
Put a Carley 1495 bulb and a pair of 17500's in that TL3 and it will be almost 2x brighter. Total expenditure for the upgrade will be in the 40 dollar range and you get a rechargeable light, no more battery expenditures more or less.

cratz2

Flashlight Enthusiast
Are you looking for a comparably light or lights that are substantially brighter than the TL-3?

For lights that Doug/Quickbeam has reviewed, visit this page and you can click the table to organize them for the most throw or the most overall output.

Beyond that, there are custom lights of course. There are lights WAY brighter, but still the TL-3 does an outstanding job of throwing.