Surefire A2 Add-on... Would you buy it? **UPDATE - Product Launch Announced!!**

Atomic_Chicken

Enlightened
Greetings!

Let's say that someone could produce this product for a Surefire A2 Aviator. Would you buy it?

A drop-in LED ring with 2 white THC3 LEDs and 1 Red THC3 LED. Either the White+Red LEDs all light at once, or just the Red LED. Selection of which of the two modes is done by pressing the tailcap and releasing in under 1 Sec. If the tailcap is held for more than 1 Sec., the mode does not change and the flashlight will continue to operate in the same mode (red or red+white) the next time it turns on. Basically, a fast press of the tailcap switch will toggle between the two modes. The module will remember what mode it is in even if the flashlight has the batteries removed.

This would give you the benefit of having white LED's for color rendition, along with a single Red LED for preserving night vision for reading, hallways at night, etc.

I am an electrical engineer and machinist. I believe that using current technology, including a microcontroller that recently became available, I could produce the above product. I'm definitely planning on attempting a prototype of this device in the next few weeks.

My target sale price will be somewhere around $50, but could be less expensive if I sell enough of them.

Looking forward to replies and input!
Bawko

EDIT: Posted update on post #63, first prototypes in-hand!
EDIT: Posted update on post #157, first A2 modified and functioning!
EDIT: Posted update on post #253, project update!
EDIT: Product Launch Announced! See: http://candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?t=162090

Last edited:

Glen C

Enlightened
Re: Surefire A2 Add-on... Would you buy it?

Bawko, do you need an A2 to test it on? :lolsign: I couldn't help noticing you recent buying spree!

Atomic_Chicken

Enlightened

Greetings!

Glen C said:
Bawko, do you need an A2 to test it on? :lolsign: I couldn't help noticing you recent buying spree!