Why Tail Clickies?

NightBandit

Newly Enlightened
I know that I'm new to the world of flashlights, but I have a question. Why do so many companies make their flashlights with tail (end cap) clickies? I understand the priciple behind this for tactical (police and military) use, but a majority of these lights will never see any tactical use.

From the way that I carry and use a flashlight, it would be much easier (and convenient) if the clickie was on the body (like a MagLite). Do these companies do this just because they like to think of themselves as producing a tactical light (when they really aren't)?

Do most of you like the clickie on the tail or am I alone in my thoughts?

Thanks,

NightBandit

defusion

Enlightened
I use it like one would when used tacticaly. i only prefer a clicky on the body in the case of a large light, like a mag.

GeorgePaul

Enlightened
I like a clicky on the tail because it makes for a slimmer light. Also, it's easier to fix/replace the switch if it's in a tailcap. In addition, a lot of tailcaps have a lockout feature which many find useful.

TORCH_BOY

Flashlight Enthusiast
Welcome, Its practical for the smaller lights, easy to manufacture as the switch is not placed in the barrel.

ja10

Enlightened
It's also useful because once on, you can grip it any way you want without turning it off.

sawlight

Enlightened
I like them because I have some finger "issues" and they are easier for me to operate than a twisty head.

Art Vandelay

Flashlight Enthusiast