Dorcy Metal Gear Mod?

IndecisiveFlashaholic

Newly Enlightened
Im very new to modding, but would a dorcy Metal Gear (which runs off of 3 AAA cells) be able to use either this seoul or cree led? The driving voltage is 3.7 but 3 AAA cells give off 4.5. Please correct me if i am wrong ( I probally am :)).

Nitroz

Flashlight Enthusiast
IndecisiveFlashaholic said:
Im very new to modding, but would a dorcy Metal Gear (which runs off of 3 AAA cells) be able to use either this seoul or cree led? The driving voltage is 3.7 but 3 AAA cells give off 4.5. Please correct me if i am wrong ( I probally am :)).

I had great results with the Cree in the Metal Gear. Here's some pictures of the mod.

https://www.candlepowerforums.com/threads/144164

needforspeed

Newly Enlightened
I have done two of them, both with crees and cree optics.

Both rock, nothing but emitter and reflector/optic swap.

One I actually use a single rcr123 3.7v and get excelent output.

They are easy and fun.

Bill
Massachusetts

Last edited:

Nitroz

Flashlight Enthusiast
needforspeed said:
I have done two of them, both with crees and cree reflectors.

Both rock, nothing but emitter and reflector/optic swap.

One I actually use a single rcr123 3.7v and get excelent output.

They are easy and fun.

Bill
Massachusetts

Why use the cr123 when you can use one 18650?

ace0001a

Flashlight Enthusiast