New Pila 120 lumen LED emitter/modding Pila 3W module?

Foxel1

Newly Enlightened
Hi,

this is my first post in this Forum and i have quite a few questions as you can imagine :) I would like to get a Pila GL2 with LED emitter, and saw that they will soon be offering it with a 120 lumen CREE led, has anyone got more info on pricing or when this will be available?

Pila told me mid of April, but they did not really tell me any details about the emitter like if the regulation works also with a single 3.7V cell (which would be great).

I am really new to high power LEDs, and i have no clue how bright Luxeon 3 really is, i have never seen it in real, nor an LED flashlight with reflector at all, only one of those 21 led cheap things, of which i just modded one to hold an 18650 cell, works good. I saw on flashlightreviews.com that the 3W Pila emitter is brighter overall than those 21 led things, which is good, and of course has a lot more throw as you call it, which i like too. But can you somehow give me a hint on how bright it is, say compared to a rather cheap plastic halogen flashlight with 4 AA batterys that was up to date maybe 8 years ago?

Im really used to that led flashlights always have been less bright and of less practical use than normal bulb lights, and never seen an led flashlight that comes close to the light output of a normal halogen light. My first led flashlight had a single 5mm led, then i got an 8 led light which was pretty ok, but of course not really "bright". Now i got this 21 led light and it really is very bright and approaches the usefulness of a bulb light, so im wondering how those luxeons really perform.