ARC LS lights the way on coast to coast bicycle trip

Status
Not open for further replies.

MY

Enlightened
I recently just completed a cross-country bicycle trip, Seattle (I think that I saw Telephony - or someone driving a small wheeled vehicle, decorated with LEDs next to the Green Tortise Hostel) to Yorktown, Virginia, on a Rans V-Rex recumbent. While going through the flatlands, the heat and humidity made it unbearable to ride during the day. Even when I started out at the break of day, it would quickly get unbearable. As such, I started riding at night using an ARC SLS (with single 123) as a headlight. I simply wrapped several layers of electrical tape to my handlebars, pressed the LS until it made a groove to sit in and bungie corded it tight. I made sure that the LS's lanyard was secured just in case the bungie broke. I would often ride for about 2 hours in the night either until midnight or getting up early at about 3 am. I found it amazing how bright the LS was when no other lights were around and your eyes adjusted. I got about 2.5 hours of good light from each 123 - - there was quite a bit of power left afterwards but output (for riding) went down quickly. Granted, I was only going about 12-14 MPH but I could see well enough to gauge road conditions.

This night riding was quite relaxing and provided a diversion from the fairly consistent flatland scenery - you concentrate on the road and the sounds around you. I probably rode about ten nights on the trip.

I also carried an ARC AAA as my camp and reading light. Everybody who saw these lights wanted one - if REI, EMS, MEC or some other large equipment store carried them, they would sell like hotcakes.

During my 4,200 mile trip, I went through about 15 123s but only 3 AAA batteries. It is amazing how long an ARC AAA last with intermittent use. Both ARC lights worked perfectly.