Anyone kill their L0D-CE with 10440's yet?

EsthetiX

Enlightened
I leave mine on high all the time and I've been doing this for at least 3 months (probably more) with no issues. I've run it on high till the battery completely drains severla times actually. All this BS about the l0d-ce not being capable of handling 10440's is BS!

Alin10123

Flashlight Enthusiast
The LOD-CE can handle a 10440. I think it was initially a member here that said when they left it on by mistake, the light head got very hot. But later on during actual use, he tried holding it in his hand with the light on high, it worked fine. In the end he said it was a matter of using the light on high instead of leaving it sitting there on high. His hand acted as a heat sink.

Face

Enlightened
No obvious problems with mine yet on a 10440, although I wouldn't completely drain 10440's, as they're unprotected cells, but that's just me.

Al_Havemann

Enlightened
No problems with mine either after maybe a dozen charges on 4 unprotected cells. It gets a little hot on high but that doesn't seem to bother it. Low/Medium are no problem.

I just wish there were cells with more capacity, I mostly use standard lithiums because of the run time on 10440's, and there's no grace period when they die either, you have to switch right now. Great little light.

Genesis 1:3

Newly Enlightened
How much more light does 10440 put out on L0DCE when compared with alkaline or NiMH battery?

TECENG

Newly Enlightened
I run mine with 10440's, no problems. I don't run it at extended times, but it is pretty darn impressive on high. Like most everyone with this light, I absolutely love it.

farscape105

Newly Enlightened
No problem with my LOD on 10440's. Why is it that it can handle the current, while light like C-LE has problems of board frying from 14500's? Is the Fenix board just more robust or using better heatsink?

Verve

Newly Enlightened