Surefire L1 - my new favorite

aggiegrads

Newly Enlightened
I just picked up my first Surefire, a new, current style L1 to use primarily as a nightstand light. I also picked up a F04 beamshaper to give me a floodier light than the L1 is as stock. I love this combo for moving around at night.

I call it my "Wall of Glow."

I am a relative newbie, and I was at first enamored by the powerful lights that are available. I picked up a Fenix L2D-CE, Lumapower M1, and a few others. For 99% of my uses, I don't need THAT much light. I cannot believe how useable the L1 is. For dark adapted eyes, 1.1 lumens is all you need to move around at night. I tried reading by a L0D-CE, but the PWM bothers me, (only when I read, for other purposes, PWM is fine) and it is still too bright to read by at night. The L1 on low is perfect for night reading.

The switch is very well thought out, and extremely flexible. I can turn it back a turn to "lock out" the high mode, lock it out completely, twist on to low mode with momentary high, or twist on all the way for constant high.

Although the light is a little large for pocket EDC, it is plenty small for belt or sheath carry, and it clips on easily to my Filson briefcase for my EDC needs.

MacTech

Enlightened
Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, Earth, USA, New England
Agreed, the L1 is a nice, solid light, it's not my favorite (that honor goes to the A2 and my E1L-SR (Seoul emitter and McR20-S reflector in a SF KL1 head), but the L1 is a great emergency/general use light

as you stated, the 1.1 lumen low is great for navigating while dark-adapted, especially when diffused through the F04 beamshaper