Does older LS1 bezel screw off?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SuRgE

Enlightened
Hello,

I recently purchased two Arc LS seconds. One has a nice bezel and battery compartment but has a terible finish on the housing thats attached to the front bezel. I want to replace the housing with the other one because its flawless.

I tried to unscrew the bezel but it wouldn't turn.
Are they glued? I'm a newbie to Arc lights and was wondering if its possible to remove the bezel without damaging the light.

Thanks,

RailLight

Newly Enlightened
Hello

Apparently the bezels are treated with locktite
or something similar to make it tough to remove from the body. My LS got wet and there was some condensation inside the lens. I placed it on a heat register overnight were it was gently heated and cooled over and over,in order to dry it out. When I put the body back on the battery pack the bezel came off in my hand. If you dont mind screwing around with an expensive flashlight you could try that and see if it works.

Let us know what happens

RailLight

ledfanfromjuno

Enlightened
Guess what! I just did this to my arc ls second today about 6 hours ago. One of my arc seconds was perfect so I didn't mess with it. If its not broken don't try and fix it. However, my other arc ls's collimator looked like a cracked windshield around the center round spot in its center. Also, a real bad job was done screwing the bezel over the collimator because there was a noticeable gap between the bezel metal and the collimator surface like someone just partially screwed the bezel on and let the locktite harden leaving a gap between the bezel and collimator lens. So, I just had to fix it.