Any difference between a Seoul modded TLE-5 and new TLE-5EX?

KDOG3

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm wondering if the new TLE-5EX SSC 2AA Mini-mag drop in would be any brighter than the original TLE-5 with the stock Luxeon emitter removed and a Seoul P4 put in its place.... I thought there was some beamshots around here somewhere.

jlomein

Enlightened
FYI I am an absolute newbie when it comes to modding, but today I tried replacing the luxeon LED on my TLE-5 with a Seoul LED.

The luxeon LED is thermal epoxied to the board, so it is very difficult to remove. I ended up removing as much solder as I could, snipped the wires/leads, and used brute force with pliers to rip the luxeon off.

I tried to install the Seoul just using thermal paste (not epoxy) and solder. It was very difficult as it would always shift and not stay put. I ended up getting it down but it did not work. Either I burnt out the LED or reversed the polarity, because I put the luxeon back on and it worked.

In conclusion, I spent 2 hours modding, destroyed one Seoul LED (crushed into pieces when I tried removing it), and lost a lot of patience. I would advise buying the TLE-5EX SSC and saving yourself the hassle of modding the TLE-5.

BTW: does anyone know how to tell which is the negative lead on a Luxeon and a Seoul? Also, does anyone know which side of the TLE-5 board is the negative side?

KDOG3

Flashlight Enthusiast
Did you try turning the module around in the Mini-mag socket? Thats what I did when I Seoul modded my TLE-5. It wouldn't work at first until I turned it around.

nanotech17

Flashlight Enthusiast
I mod mine with seoul and the brightness not so bright because of the stock driver.
Just buy the ready made seoul would be better because the ready made ssc is using the K2 driver.

jlomein

Enlightened
KDOG3 said:
Did you try turning the module around in the Mini-mag socket? Thats what I did when I Seoul modded my TLE-5. It wouldn't work at first until I turned it around.