Reviews of TLE-6EXB (2-3 C/D Maglite Drop in)

xhackr

Newly Enlightened
I purchased and just received a TLE-6EXB from MattK at www.BatteryJunction.com which was my first purchase there and a great experience from the order and follow-up communication to the shipping. Frankly, I can't believe I received it so quickly.

I installed the unit in a 2D maglite hit the switch and it flashed once. I thought, oh no, there was a problem with the regulator, the LED was over driven and blew. Turned it off then on again and reproduced the flash. Checked the cells – 1.36v on each cell. Even though that's just standing voltage, that should be good enough. Nonetheless, I put a fresh set of cells in and presto, the whitest, brightest light I could imagine from this old flashlight. Unfortunately I have little experience to compare the performance to, so take that accolade with a grain of salt.

I know how standing voltage can be insignificant in testing a battery without a load, but I would expect that to play a larger roll in an older lead acid battery, not an alkaline. So, I am now wondering if I received a TLE-6EXA Rather than the B. If not, and it takes over 2.72V to drive this unit, I don't think it can be appropriate for the claimed 2 cell application.

BTW, this is my first performance LED light and my first post here after lurking for a bit and I have enjoyed the passion and technical expertise on this forum. However, I need another technical interest like a whole in the head. :)

Last edited:

Cydonia

Enlightened
First off I must say Welcome to the forum :)
I am now obligated to repeat the mantra of "Hold onto your wallet" as fair warning.

A very good and interesting first post. Gives a few things to think about...
Amazing that the boost can't function with cells at 1.36v. That means... so much of the cells potential will be wasted and not used. Thanks for this important report!