looking for a new flashlight

igneous

Newly Enlightened
hello.

I'm new to the whole flashlight scene and I figured this is the bets place to ask for advise seeing as that a quick search on google has returned hundreds of models and tens of different brand. the only named flashlight I've owned before was a 2xAA Maglite. it broke after a year and I never bothered buying anything from famous brands after that.

now, however I'm looking for very good flashlight to take place in my safe box that I keep in case of disaster.

so I am looking for a flashlight which is

• reliable
  • water and dist proof
  • rigid, won't brake if dropped
  • compact (palm size)
  • LED - they seem brighter and more reliable to me
  • bright (I'm thinking around 50+ lumens)
  • battery lasts at least 1.5 hours on max output
  • has multiple output modes
  • (immune to EMP) - not required, but would be nice

my budget is up to 300-350 USD. doesn't have to be that high, of course, it's just the money I'm prepared to pay if need be.

it would be nice if you could advise me a few different models to choose from and give their strong/weak points. for example, after some googling I figured that SureFire has good reputation and SureFire KROMA meet most of my requirements. are there any alternatives?

thanks in advance.

Codeman

Flashlight Enthusiast
Unless you want to get a custom, you can't go wrong with Surefire. Either the Kroma or the U2 would be good choices.

Welcome to CPF!

igneous

Newly Enlightened
just by looking at the tech specs, Fenix P3D CE looks much better than both SureFire KROMA and U2 and yet costs much less. why is that? what's the catch here?

scottaw

Enlightened