A2 aviator or four lights?

candlelight001

Newly Enlightened
I'm new to this flashlight world and need your help making a decision. bought an A2 and think it's pretty cool. Have read the A2 threads. but I started thinking, for the same money, I could get Fenix L2D CE, P2D, plus Streamlight ProPolymer 4AAA, an Arc AAA, and a box of 123 batteries! My uses are: checkout house at night; keep in car to light up addresses, find streets; keep on me when walking at night; car camping.Any thoughts? thanks!

Last edited:

Illum

Flashaholic
EDIT: Welcome to CPForums! :wave:

I'm sure your familiar with the praises for the surefire A2 on the forum for awhile now, but many fail to realize that the value of the A2 lies in the applications it is used in.
To decide which light to buy depends on your preferences in a light, for many cost is the number one criteria, performance being somewhere between runtime and duration. its best to do a little research on review sites such as user Quickbeam's flashlightreviews, a site greatly valued and depended on for infos on lights, and user the_LED_museum's site also.

the A2's expensive because
1-Its a surefire
2-only regulated xenon you can find as a flashlight
3-because its regulated, the xenons bulb life is extended and the output gives you quite possibly the best color rendition compared to any other xenon light in size
but the shortcoming of the A2 is
1-not meant to be a "throw" light, as for flood, It does the job adequately compared to other flood lights...but the LEDs are far from white :ohgeez:
2-Batteries don't last too long on main beam [average 40-70 minutes, source from bawko], so If your application needs alot of light for an extended period of time, then the A2 may not suit your needs.
3-Limited versatility, as there are no "levels" on the A2, so you either have low light suitable for dark adapted eyes or a power xenon beam...with no selections in between.