Opinions on Surefire L5 (and also L2)

Spypro

Enlightened
After months of searching and reading on CPF I think my "first" real flashlight will be a Surefire. I've seen somewhere on the forum that "everyone ends up buying a Surefire".
I already own a couple of lights: UK 4AA (inc.), Streamlight Scorpion (LED), Bushnell 1W, Minimag, Maglite 4C, North49 6 LEDs, Dorcy 3 LEDs (crank) and also a Thor.

I'm not a pro so I need simple answers.

I'm really interested in the incoming L5 from SF with the Cree LED.
I like the beam (actual L5): somewhat hotspot with a nice spill beam.
I've found on the 2007 SF catalog that the new L5 will push 120 lumens.

What I'm looking for:
Regulation
Be able to use rechargeables CR123
100 lumens + (I want something BRIGHT)
NO reverse clicky (this is why I'll not buy a P3D-CE... but 160 lumens would have been nice...)

But there is some questions I need to be answered:
Can I use rechargeables CR123 in the L5 ?
What do you think of the current L5 ?
Is there other flashlights that worth looking at ?

All advices and answers will be very appreciated.

Thanks in advance !

Last edited:

thermal guy

Flashaholic
Re: Surefire L5 with cree... worth waiting ?

i may be wrong but i read a post here that said the L5 was put on hold and may not even come out

Spypro

Enlightened

I hope it will not be on hold... because I saw in the 2007 catalog that the L5 will get a new LED and will push 120 lumens.
I think I'll contact SF.

Enlightened

I am debating this myself. Should I or shouldn't I. I demo'd a KL5 today and found it sufficient in brightness at the claimed 100 lumen range. I might go ahead and get the 2006- L5 and not wait. Although the KL5/L5 is bright it's not BRIGHT. If you're used to Cree brightness the L5 might let you down.

Spypro

Enlightened

It is why it would be nice to have a SF L5 with a Cree LED.