Surefire Kroma, good or bad idea?

camhabib

Newly Enlightened
First time posting here, been reading for a short while, but just recently decided to join. I just purchased a Surefire Kroma from the Surefire website. I'm an EMT, as well as a gadget freak, and have been needing a good light for some time now. I thought it had all very useful features, including a low white light for checking pupils and etc, bright white for general purpose, red for preserving night vision, and blue for looking for traces of blood. I thought it was a bit much for a flashlight, but from what I've heard, its not a complete waist.

Are there any other options I should consider before its too late to go back on the Kroma? I don't really know too many other high end light brands (I usually just use a Maglight) so I had a somewhat hard time shopping around.

Also, are there any options as to a Surefire holster and rechargeable batteries for this light? I took a look on the site and I didn't see any that were "approved" for the light, but I figured there must be at least one. Thanks.

Archangel

Flashlight Enthusiast
You can use a 17670 in it. The light won't regulate, but you'll get two hours of slowly dimming output on high white.

Another to at least consider is the Streamlight Sidewinder, which will be out next month. It's not as bright, but it has a 1/2watt white (behind an optic) and red, blue and green 5mm - we assume - LEDs, all four with four brightness settings (5, 20, 50, 100%). It uses 2xAA side-by-side, so it's compact. The head is on a 90degree swivel.
http://flashlightnews.org/story829.shtml

EV_007

Enlightened
The multi-colored multi-LED setup is truly a useful feature. I've put my Kroma into my ever changing EDC setup.

seery

Flashlight Enthusiast
WELCOME to CPF.:party:

From what you describe the intended use to be, the Kroma seems like a
very nice fit. You will make use of all the Kroma has to offer.