Help a noob (me) find a flashlight!

sunnysideOS

Newly Enlightened
I'm new to this flashlight business and I'm looking for a light that I can use for clearing my house, as well as for camping, and general utility. I will not be carrying it on me every day. I like LEDs and it has to be reliable and bright. I don't want to spend more than $60 on it (including shipping) so it really has to be around $50. I was looking at either the inova T3 or the surefire g2z. Can you guys recommend any other flashlights that would fit the bill?

Kilovolt

Flashlight Enthusiast
Within the Fenix CE range you should find what you are looking for. Check the sizes and types of batteries they use and then look to the first post of this page (List of flashlights....) for reviews and pics. You can not miss.

;)

..............and welcome to CPF !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Last edited:

wintermute

Enlightened
1xAA Fenix L1D CE
2xAA Fenix L2D CE (brighter)
1xCR123 P2D CE
2xCR123 P3D CE (brightest)

With the L1D and L2D, you can buy extra bodies separate...so you can add a 1xAA or 2xAA body depending on what you get first. Get the ones with the textured reflectors.

Get them from Fenix-store.com - they have shipping included and an 8% discount for CPF users... use discount code "CPF8"

Enlightened
Ditto on the P3D. It's BRIGHT and has multiple levels. The beam is nice overall. Useful spill and a nice hotspot. You can also put it on low so you won't disturb others while camping.

Enlightened
Beamshots of the P3D for you.. Lights things up pretty good. The following pictures were on turbo mode. :naughty:

P3Dlivingroom_filtered.jpg

P3Dhall_filtered.jpg

P3Dkitchen_filtered.jpg

carrot

Flashaholic
One thing you should know about the Fenix series is- while yes, they are bright, they do not have momentary on. I do not know if that is important to you, but if it is you should be considering something else.

FWIW, I managed to pick up a G2Z for $50 here on CPF B/S/T awhile ago.

paulr

Flashaholic