PEAK recommendations

goathens

Newly Enlightened
HI all, I'm hoping this is the proper forum for this post.

I've been EDCing a cmg infinity ultra for like 4 years now. It's currently available from gerber, so you know what light I have been using for a while.

Reflecting on my experience with the light, I have this input:
- I like AA's; the extra weight is ok since all my other electronics use AA and they are the cheapest/easiest to find.
- this thing is too weak for use in urban environments. There's a difference between using this in the woods (as the only source of light) and needing it to illuminate the dark corner of a poorly lit storage room.
- I like a more spot-like, longer-distance beam.
- aluminum (well, HAII aluminum) gets nicked up alot in my pocket. I need more durability. Also, I hate the interior/threads of the light getting the aluminum oxide (black smudgies).

So, now I am looking to upgrade, and have decided on PEAK LED.

What do you guys think would be good for me?
is brass a bit stronger than the aluminum? or should i go straight to steel?
If i go for a 2-AA body instead of 1-AA, what performance improvements will i get? brighter light or longer runtime? how about total weight comparison?
I hear the 5mm led's don't throw as well as a luxeon/p4 in a reflector, but what are the performance differences between luxeons and P4's sold at Peak (including total useful life of the bulb)?

thanks.

UncleFester

Flashaholic*,
I'm going to assume that this is the right place to discuss this sorta thing.
From what you describe, I think you would like a Peak Pacific ultra power with a single AA body. Ultra Power has plenty of brightness and still usable run time.Becasue the Pacific uses a high power LED, it also uses a reflector so the beam has a definite hot spot with plenty of spill. It's available in Luxeon and Soul P4 I believe. Also available are Stainless Steel and Brass but aluminum is just fine IMHO. You can't go wrong with this light.

Pax et Lux