Making DX cree drop-in with AA and CR123 battery capability

Rat6P

Enlightened
Hello, Firstly just like to say I have been cruising around CPF for a couple of years now and only just decided to sign up. This place is a second to none source of knowledge on anything flashlight. I love it. Has been helpful everytime I was interested in purchasing a new light or making a mod.:twothumbs
Hope I can offer something back later on.

Anyway...onwards. I'll keep this short and sweet.
This is what I want to make
Cree Lamp Drop-in for p60 style lights.
Regulation from 1.5v 0r 2v through to 9v.
Reason for wanting to make this; I have a SF 6P with cell extender( love the versatility of this setup). Have noticed (probably not the first) that 3 CR123 batts are almost exactly the same length as 2 AA.
I was thinking it would be great to have the option of running 2 AA, or 2cr123, or 3cr123 or other type rechargeables with the same lamp.
So easy to make a battery spacer whether its improvised or more well made. Hence the 1.5v-9v regulation.

So I was considering using the DX lamp assemblies that come minus the circuitry and cree lamp.

Has any one had experience using these?
Can anyone tell me if regulation of this sort is available, or even possible?
or would 3v-9v reg be good enough?
Does anyone see any problems with what I have outlined?
Any input at all is appreciated?
Does anyone else think this is a good idea or bad??

Thanks again, look forward to any replies.

PS. please let me know if ive broken any posting rules etc,
will be happy to delete..move...etc if i have.

Last edited:

Gunner12

Flashaholic
Regulation from 1.5v 0r 2v through to 9v
Buck/Boost circuit might be hard, and the 2AA batteries will probably rattle.

It's s good idea but the Buck/Boost circuit might be hard to get. I think the Surefire KL1 has a Buck/Boost circuit, I'm not sure of it's limits though.

Good Luck!

Rat6P

Enlightened