Every Day Walking/Hiking Shoes

shadowbuds

Newly Enlightened
My shoes suck and I can't figure out what/where to buy some good ones. I'm sick of going to payless and getting cheap rubber that busts open after a couple weeks of use. I know there has to be someone here with shoe fetish, please help me!

I'm looking for a comfortable shoe that doesn't hurt my feet. My last pair of shoes are VANS. Those are nice but not what i'm looking for. I'm willing to dish out $100 on some good ones but i'm most interested in comfort and grip of the shoe. I live in CA but I go hiking with my friends/cousins every so often so I know this is important. Any/all advice is welcomed as I have no knowledge of shoes beyond the fact that they protect your feet.

THANKS!

EDIT: BTW, i'm male and if anyone knows a place near SOCAL (I don't really want to purchase shoes online) help me out!

:D

Last edited:

monkeyboy

Flashlight Enthusiast
I would keep the VANS for everyday use since they are lightweight and comfortable.

For walking and hiking I'd buy a separate pair of walking boots since these will provide ankle support and waterproofness. You may be able to find a decent pair of walking boots for $100 on discount but you will probably need to extend your budget slightly. Bear in mind that walking boots will take a while to break in before they become comfortable. I don't know what's available in the US, but in Europe; Meindl, Scarpa and Berghaus are good makes.

Coop

Flashlight Enthusiast
Tilburg, the Netherlands (perfectly reachable by U
Bear in mind that walking boots will take a while to break in before they become comfortable.