Best 5mm leds available?

lasercrazy

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm not sure if anyone follows the 5mm leds anymore with the cree/ssc craze going on right now. Are the nichia U bin still the best or are there brighter 5mm leds out there? I don't mean the high power mj/smj/and the other ones from lsdiodes, just the old fashioned 20ma leds. Any help is greatly appreciated. :D

mmmflashlights

Enlightened
I'm by no means an expert, but I have bought some of the 55,000mcd-rated 5mm LEDs from the seller 'jeledhk' on Ebay. They are bright but the evenness/color of the beam hotspot is mediocre, with some yellow and violet tones. In practice though, it's not very noticeable during most average uses, it doesn't look good on a white wall but beyond that they are alright. There are some being sold by another seller on Ebay that are called 'pure' white or something similar and are rated around 37-40,000mcd and I've heard that those are pretty good as well and have a more ideal-looking beam. Too bad I have to buy so many at a time, I only needed a few to try of the jeled LEDs but now I have 50 of them, minus a couple I'm now using. I put one in a maglite solitaire and have it running off of a 10440 lithium, it makes a nice keychain light with decent output and several hours of runtime. BTW, if you want a few of the jeled LEDs to try out but don't want 50+, I could put a few in an envelope for a couple bucks.

P.S. - these were the the other ones I was talking about - http://cgi.ebay.com/Pure-White-LED-...8066581QQihZ006QQcategoryZ66952QQcmdZViewItem

Last edited:

Robatman

Newly Enlightened
I got the JELED's off ebay to replace some old 5mm's in a few headlamps and cheap bike lights etc, and they are a real improvement. however these are the only 5mm leds i have bought and cant compare them to anything else.

also quite fast shipping from HK,
Robert

TorchBoy

Flashlight Enthusiast